Live chat
Speak with a care advisor.
Skip to navigation | Skip to content | Skip to footer


Cleeve Lodge Care Home
Cleeve Lodge Close Downend Bristol BS16 6AQ
01172 957347 3.33333/ 4stars from 6users.

Cleeve Lodge Care Home

Member for 2 years
Cleeve Lodge Close, Downend, Bristol, BS16 6AQ
Tel: 01172 957347

About

Cleeve Lodge Care Home

Set in well kept gardens adjacent to the playing fields in Downend, Cleeve Lodge Residential Home is a delightful period property that has been carefully restored to provide lovely accommodation and facilities. This impressive house and its gardens are the perfect setting for a relaxed and peaceful lifestyle with any care that may be needed on hand.

Our expert teams of carers are on hand 24 hours a day to ensure that all residents have the best possible care. We work closely with many highly qualified professionals to ensure that every possible need is met as soon as possible. Cleeve Lodge has close links with local health professionals. All our staff are current in all procedures and care advice and continuing professional development is highly valued at Cleeve Lodge, with regular supervisions and appraisals to support and monitor staff.

Cleeve Lodge has attractive period high ceilings and light communal areas and of course lovely private bedrooms. All rooms are decorated to a high specification, with full nurse call system throughout the home. Each bedroom has en suite facilities to ensure privacy whilst still enjoying the safety and comfort of having our care team close by. The common areas of Cleeve Lodge are large and airy, some with French windows, and allow residents to enjoy the company of old or new friends inside or in the attractive gardens that surround the Lodge.

From day to day activities in the home to trips to the local pubs, we provide a stimulating diary so that all of our residents can choose to join in with something that they may enjoy. Through small classes and entertainment held in the communal areas and day trips and seasonal celebrations we work hard to ensure that our residents truly enjoy their time as part of the Cleeve Lodge community. Games and quizzes can be popular, flower arranging and cookery/baking are always a success and there is a regular armchair exercise class to maintain mobility. There are also massage and manicure pampering sessions on a weekly basis and our staff are very much a part of the community of the Lodge.

Type of service
Care Home
Type of ownership
Private
Features
Activity Classes
Bathing Equipment
Car Park Facilities
Communal Dining
Communal Gardens
Day Trips
Disabled Access
Ensuite bathrooms
Exercise Classes
Health Support Services e.g. Optician, Chiropodist, Physiotherapist
IT Facilities
Lifting and handling equipment
Lifts and/or stair lifts
Quiet lounge
Reminiscence Room
Special Dietary Requirements
Telephone in Bedroom
Treatment Rooms
TV in Bedroom
TV Lounge
Visiting Faith Leaders
Specialisms
Convalescent Care
Day Care
Old Age (65+)
Physical Disabilities
Respite Care Homes
Speech Impairment
Stroke Recovery
Visual Impairment

Map

Get directions

Nearby Amenities
Bank
Bus Stop
Chemist
GP Surgery
Park
Post Office
Shops

Reviews - 6

Service reviews - 6

14th September 2017 -
Ratings
Choices
Cleanliness
Competence
Dignity
Helpfulness
Independence
Communication
Information handling
Professionalism (provider)
Professionalism (staff)
This user would recommend this care provider to others.

From the moment I walked into the home I knew that my husband would be well looked after. I always feel really at home there and the staff are brilliant.

17th August 2017 -
Ratings
Choices
Cleanliness
Competence
Dignity
Helpfulness
Independence
Communication
Information handling
Professionalism (provider)
Professionalism (staff)
This user would recommend this care provider to others.

Friendly, competent, caring staff. Residents are treated with respect at all times. Comfortable surroundings. Plenty of activities and events.

23rd May 2017 -
Ratings
Choices
Cleanliness
Competence
Dignity
Helpfulness
Independence
Communication
Information handling
Professionalism (provider)
Professionalism (staff)

My Mother stayed here for a respite stay and i wasn't impressed with the level of care she received. The home was rather chaotic with a lack of staff. One morning I visited and my mother was still in bed still without breakfast - i had to get her up and take her to the toilet myself. When i returned none of her lunch utensils or trays had been cleared from her room. During her stay the lift had broken and I feel the residents on the second floor were almost forgotten about. My mother had a respite stay here in 2016 and it was fine, it's a shame to see its gone downhill.

- Response from Cleeve Lodge Care Home

I am sorry to receive your review and that you found the care to be lacking.

We are in a very privileged position to have a high number of staff, often with supernumerary staff on duty. During the period that your Mother stayed with us, we had a planned lift refurbishment taking place. Alternative arrangements were in place to use the chair lift and further staff were on duty to help with these transfers. Unfortunately, as your Mother's health had deteriorated since her previous respite stay, she found transfers to be more difficult. As we were unwilling to undertake banned moving & handling moves, we hired a hoist specifically for your Mother's stay. We did converse about these difficulties and a place in our sister Nursing Home was offered and declined. I understand that our sister Residential Home has also been unable offer further respite care as nursing care would be more appropriate now.

Many Thanks,

Helen Haughton

Registered Manager

24th March 2017 -
Ratings
Choices
Cleanliness
Competence
Dignity
Helpfulness
Independence
Communication
Information handling
Professionalism (provider)
Professionalism (staff)
This user would recommend this care provider to others.

My mum is current having respite care at the home and I am really please with her placement. The staff are really caring and helpful.

23rd March 2017 -
Ratings
Choices
Cleanliness
Competence
Dignity
Helpfulness
Independence
Communication
Information handling
Professionalism (provider)
Professionalism (staff)
This user would recommend this care provider to others.

I have been to see my sister in the home once. I found the staff very friendly, understanding and tolerant towards all residents. The room was very clean and tidy and the dinning room was spotless.

15th March 2017 -
Ratings
Choices
Cleanliness
Competence
Dignity
Helpfulness
Independence
Communication
Information handling
Professionalism (provider)
Professionalism (staff)
This user would recommend this care provider to others.

My Aunt stayed here for a respite stay, the staff were excellent and very friendly. Its a big place and was always clean and tidy - My Aunt built a nice relationship with her Carers. The only criticism would be that my Aunt changed room and a previous residents personal paperwork and health documents were left. Overall a very positive experience.

Leave a review
6 reviews
3.33

Service ratings

Choices
Cleanliness
Competence
Dignity
Helpfulness
Independence
Communication
Information handling
Professionalism (provider)
Professionalism (staff)
Overall

Sign-in or register to watch a provider and be notified of new reviews posted about them.

Watch provider

Compare the details of this provider with others in your list.

Compare provider

Do you know this care service?

If you or a loved one have been supported by the services of this provider, please leave a review.

Your rating and comments will help others who are looking for a care service make an informed choice.